Global Perspective

I am excited to announce that I have been selected to participate in the Global Perspective Program at Virginia Tech! This is a great honor, as few are selected of the many who are eligible.

As part of my preparation in becoming a future professor, I have taken classes which have provided me with exposure to interdisciplinary courses on contemporary pedagogy and how the academic world operates from multiple perspectives. Because of this eligibility, I applied for the Global Perspectives Program which is a collaborative program that includes staff, administrators, faculty, and graduate students to explore topics in global higher education.

Dean Karen DePauw has lead this collaboration for over 10 years with multiple institutions from all over the world. My participation will allow me to travel to Switzerland, France, and Italy in the upcoming late spring of 2017. Because I am eager to learn how to be an outstanding professor in the future and have had little previous experience in a global workplace, it goes without saying that I am looking forward to the end of the Spring 2017 semester and all the opportunities this will bring.

I will share more as I move closer toward the journey and as I learn more about everything that this will entail. Until then, I will leave you with a statement from Nelson Mandela:

“Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world.”

Leave a Reply

