Passport of Opportunity

My passport came in the mail this weekend.  It is a small thing, this little blue book with my photo and information about me.  However, it represents something really big.  This is my very first passport.  Yes, my very first one.  In a few short weeks, I will make my first trip to Europe.

I recall a conversation with a friend of mine from high school several years back now where we discussed our individual love for travel and adventures.  When I disclosed that I did not have my passport, nor had I ever traveled to a long list of exotic and far away places, it stood out to me that perhaps I had a limited view of what travel and adventure were truly.  Now, don’t get me wrong, as there are many adventures I have had traveling within the U.S.A. and to some nearby countries which did not require having a passport (at that time).  My scope was small and my path relatively narrow.  I knew that one day, I would indeed get my passport and cross the seas to get to a distant land for new experiences.  For whatever reason, that conversation has remained with me over time.

Now, seeing that little passport book in my hand, it reminded me that small things can have big impacts on our lives and the lives of others.  Soon, my life will be changed in ways I yet know.  I will meet people from lovely places doing incredible things with and through their education.  Maybe they will even feel the same about me.  So far, I have met some incredible people doing amazing things already. Those people I am excited to travel with and gain status as “GPP Alumni”.

I look forward to a different kind of adventure and travel, which also includes my passion for education and counseling.  Yes, that little blue book is about travel and adventure…but I see now that it is also a passport for opportunity.  Hopefully, I will be able to share many of those opportunities and reflections in the weeks to come.  But until then, I am smiling because of the adventure to step forward, open the door by obtaining my passport, and eagerly await my upcoming travel while continuing my educational adventures here at VT.

Leave a Reply

